IACC-Logo, back to IACC-Home

INTERNATIONAL ANTI-CORRUPTION CONFERENCE (IACC) English version
Español
Programme
Papers
Organisers
Registration
Past IACCs
Sponsors
Contact

Lima
Declaration 

Durban
Commitment

Privacy Policy

Impressum

   The 9th International Anti-Corruption Conference


L'ENGAGEMENT DE DURBAN POUR UNE ACTION EFFICACE CONTRE LA CORRUPTION

NOUS, les 1600 représentants de 135 pays réunis à Durban en Afrique du Sud, du 10 au 15 Octobre 1999, pour participer à la IXe Conférence Internationale de Lutte contre la Corruption portant sur le thème : „L'Intégrité Mondiale en l'an 2000 et au-delà", reconnaissons que la corruption est l'un des héritages le plus nocif du XXe siècle.

A l'aube du Troisième Millénaire, nous reconnaissons qu'à moins de réussir à combattre ce fléau, la pauvreté, qui a déjà atteint un seuil inadmissible, s'aggravera dans le monde ; la légitimité des gouvernements sera minée ; les violations des Droits de l'Homme se multiplieront et les progrès de la démocratie observés au cours des 50 dernières années seront annihilés.

Issus du Gouvernement, du monde des affaires, de la société civile et des organisations internationales, nous sommes venus ici non pas en tant que représentants d'institutions ou d'organisations mais comme individus concernés, unis dans notre désir de servir l'Humanité. Nous sommes venus pour évaluer ouvertement et honnêtement les progrès accomplis, les difficultés rencontrées, et les réponses aux défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés. Dès lors, c'est à nous de porter dans nos pays et nos institutions les tâches que nous nous sommes fixées.

Comme nous l'avons déclaré à Lima, la corruption est un mal qui menace et défie tous les peuples du monde, mais qui touche de manière particulièrement cruelle les plus pauvres. Elle aggrave la pauvreté, elle menace les Droits de l'Homme, elle dégrade l'environnement, elle dévoie le développement, dont celui du secteur privé, elle peut créer des conflits à l'échelle nationale ou internationale et elle mine la confiance dans la démocratie et la légitimité des gouvernements.

Nous réaffirmons notre conviction qu'une campagne efficace de lutte contre la corruption exige l'entière participation de tous les secteurs de la société, particulièrement celle de la société civile, et, avec elle, celle du secteur privé. Nous croyons fermement qu'aucun gouvernement ne peut espérer mener cette lutte contre la corruption sans le soutien actif et la participation de des citoyens. Quant à nous, nous considérons qu'il est de notre devoir fondamental de combattre la corruption efficacement quand elle se présente et lorsqu'elle se présente.

Nous rencontrant ici pour la première fois sur le continent Africain, nous avons été touchés par les interventions de nos collègues Africains, alors qu'ils nous faisaient part de leurs perceptions d'un malaise qu'ils ont en commun avec toutes les régions du monde. Nous partageons leur conviction que l'Afrique du Sud et le Nigéria ont un rôle de premier plan à jouer dans la lutte du continent.

Nous avons été honorés que Son Excellence Thabo Mbeki, Président de la République d'Afrique du Sud, inaugure cette conférence en soulignant dans un discours stimulant les dimensions du défi auquel nous sommes confrontés. Il a rappelé la remarque de George Soros, selon laquelle : « Rien ne va plus quand on fait de la loi du plus fort le principe directeur d'une société civilisée ...» Comme l'a dit le Président Mbeki, notre tâche n'est pas moins que d'assurer que « des Etats légitimes et démocratiques (...) développent des normes sociales qui militent contre un individualisme anti-social et perverti ... »

Nous avons aussi eu l'honneur d'entendre parler des personnalités de tous les secteurs des sphères publiques et privées, parmi lesquelles S.E. Festus Mogae, Président du Botswana, James Wolfensohn, Président de la Banque Mondiale, Mustafa Kamal, Président de la Cour Suprême du Bangladesh, Mark Malloch-Brown, Administrateur Général du PNUD, Ronald K. Noble, futur Secrétaire-Général d'Interpol et Robert Wilson, PDG de Rio Tinto plc. Le Secrétaire Général des Nations Unies, Kofi Annan et le Vice-Président des Etats Unis Al Gore (qui avait convié à Washington en Février dernier une conférence internationale de lutte contre la corruption) nous ont adressé des messages d'encouragement et de soutien. Le discours de Wangari Maathai du « Greenbelt Movement » a été une source d'inspiration.

L'Honorable Penuell Maduna, Ministre de la Justice de la République d'Afrique du Sud, a présidé avec talent nos délibérations alors que notre président de la conférence et S.E. Joseph Zuma, Vice-Président de la République d'Afrique du Sud ont clos les débats. La liste complète des intervenants des séances plénières est annexé au présent document.

Nous avons observé une minute de silence pour manifester notre respect à l'égard de Mwalimu Julius Nyerere, ancien Président de Tanzanie, qui espérait pouvoir se joindre à nous mais qui est décédé pendant nos délibérations. Nous regrettons tous la perte d'un des grands leaders de l'indépendance de la plus haute intégrité.

Il s'agissait pour nous d'une réunion de travail. Au cours de la semaine qui s'est écoulée, nous avons participé à quelques 41 ateliers. Chacun de ces ateliers portait sur les mesures pratiques à prendre contre la corruption dans des domaines aussi variés que le blanchiment d'argent, la passation des marchés publics, l'éducation, l'éthique du mondes des affaires et du secteur public, la sensibilisation du public par l'intermédiaire des arts. Chacun d'entre eux a identifié les étapes concrètes qui peuvent et doivent être franchies au fur et à mesure que notre campagne progresse. Elles seront largement diffusées aux groupes visés seront accessibles sur le site Internet de Transparency International (www.transparency.org). Nous soutiendrons et suivrons soigneusement les progrès réalisés et en ferons le rapport complet lors de la Xème Conférence Internationale de Lutte contre la Corruption en l'an 2001.

Nous nous sommes répété à maintes reprises que la lutte contre la corruption n'est pas seulement la responsabilité des autorités judiciaires, pas même une tâche qui est principalement la leur. Chaque poursuite judiciaire, chaque acte de corruption, constitue un échec sur le plan personnel, social et organisationnel des systèmes conçus pour prévenir ces comportements. Nous nous sommes également répété que « la main qui donne » est au moins aussi coupable que « la main qui reçoit ». La corruption croît chaque fois que nous échouons à en recouvrer les profits illicites.

Bien que nous devions agir au niveau international, la lutte pour contenir la corruption à l'échelle nationale demeure un combat interne qui doit être initié de l'intérieur. Les acteurs extérieurs, dont les bailleurs de fonds, peuvent accompagner cette démarche. Mais celle-ci ne peut avoir de succès que si elle est conçue, menée et appropriée à l'échelon national.

Dans ce contexte, nous avons réalisé une fois de plus la nature globale de notre entreprise. Nul ne travaille seul, nous devons tous travailler ensemble et nous soutenir si nous souhaitons accomplir notre tâche.

Au cours de notre réflexion commune, nous avons fait le point sur les réalisations de la coalition que nous avons constituée en 1997, à Lima, au Pérou.

Nos réalisations sont nombreuses mais il reste encore beaucoup à faire. La lutte contre la corruption doit en particulier être institutionnalisée dans la société civile dans son ensemble, ainsi que la transparence, la responsabilité et l'intégrité au sein des organisations locales et internationales.

Sur le plan international, la convention de l'OCDE contre la corruption des agents publics étrangers a été l'un des succès les plus remarquables. Nous devons maintenant l'élargir et la rendre pleinement efficace. C'est d'ailleurs avec plaisir que nous appris que l'Afrique du Sud a l'intention d'y adhérer. Il faut noter également les actions entreprises par les pays en voie de développement alors qu'ils renforcent leur capacité de coopérer contre la corruption ; les progrès dans le cadre des conventions du Conseil de l'Europe ; le soutien croissant que nous accordent les agences internationales, dont les actions entreprises au sein de l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce ; les initiatives de la Chambre de Commerce International pour promouvoir des mesures contre la corruption. Plus particulièrement, les banques multilatérales de développement commencent à dénoncer les entreprises corrompues et les exclure des appels d'offres dans le cadre des projets qu'elles financent et les associations professionnelles s'intéressent de plus en plus à cette question.

Sur les plans national et local, le nombre des médiateurs a considérablement augmenté ; les pays exportateurs renoncent peu à peu au principe de déductibilité fiscale des pots -de-vin payés à l'étranger et pénalisent ces pratiques. Un nombre croissant de pays a commencé à concevoir et à mettre en oeuvre les stratégies globales de lutte contre la corruption que nous recommandons. Les témoins et les plaignants impliqués dans des cas de corruption jouissent d'une protection accrue et le nombre de codes de conduite et de chartes des citoyens ne cesse d'augmenter.

Nous n'avons fait que des progrès. Dans certains pays, le mouvement contre la corruption a été minimal, parfois même négatif. Les journalistes en particulier continuent d'être exposés à des risques inadmissibles dans l'exercice légitime de leur profession. Bien qu'encouragés par les progrès accomplis, nous reconnaissons cependant que la Déclaration de Lima demeure encore notre outil de travail. Nous renouvelons également notre espoir de voir dans un avenir proche les Nations Unies proclamer une Journée Internationale de l'Intégrité.

Dans ce contexte et à l'aube du nouveau millénaire, NOUS NOUS ENGAGEONS SOLENNELLEMENT aux actions suivantes :

Volonté politique
Nous nous engageons à travailler avec toutes les parties prenantes pour promouvoir une volonté politique sincère de combattre la corruption par des méthodes qui engagent l'ensemble de la société. Convaincus du rôle crucial que doit jouer la société civile dans ce processus, nous nous félicitons de l'annonce du PNUD de soutenir la création du Fonds de Partenariat, une initiative de Transparency International qui vise à donner à la société civile les moyens de participer dans ces démarches.

Innovations et émergence de pratiques exemplaires
Nous nous engageons à développer, identifier et disséminer des pratiques exemplaires nouvelles, novatrices et efficaces dans la prévention et la détection de la corruption, comme les processus transparents d'appels d'offres présentés par le Maire de Séoul. Nous développerons des sites Internet et des réseaux d'information dans ce but.

Coopération Internationale et régionale
Nous nous engageons à optimiser de manière concrète la coopération régionale et internationale, en renforçant les dispositions d'entraide judiciaire et en encourageant l'élaboration de conventions de lutte contre la corruption dans les régions d'Afrique et d'Asie. Nous souhaitons voir la lutte contre la corruption portée à l'ordre du jour des organismes de commerce international majeurs, tels que l'OMC et la CNUCED. De surcroît, nous travaillerons pour réaliser l'application complète de la Convention de l'OCDE contre la corruption d'agents publics étrangers et les conventions du Conseil de l'Europe et de l'Organisation des Etats d'Amérique (OEA) afin que les efforts nationaux soient soutenus par des sanctions. Nous soutiendrons des actions au niveau des Nations Unies pour encourager la pénalisation de toutes les formes de corruption et nous élargirons la prise de conscience de la nécessité de s'attaquer à la fois l'offre et à la demande en matière de corruption.

Nous nous réjouissons du Deuxième Forum Mondial de la Lutte contre la Corruption et du Maintien de l'Intégrité dans les services de Justice et de Sécurité qui se tiendra à La Haye en 2001. Il s'agit d'un forum gouvernemental qui peut exercer une surveillance critique de l'application des dispositions des conventions par les différents gouvernements nationaux. Ce forum peut à la fois renforcer notre action et être renforcé lui-même par notre travail au sein de la coalition de l'IACC.

Transparence des marchés publics
Nous nous engageons à poursuivre notre travail pour augmenter la transparence dans tous les domaines, particulièrement celui des marchés publics et à créer des partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé pour développer des systèmes fiables, ouverts et compétitifs, y compris des appels d'offres ouverts sur l'Internet. Au niveau international, nous sommes impatients de voir l'OMC, entre autres, jouer un rôle clé, en particulier dans la conclusion d'une entente sur la transparence des marchés publics au sommet des ministres de Seattle qui aura lieu en Novembre prochain.

Intégrité au sein du secteur privé
Nous nous engageons à élaborer des normes d'éthique pour le secteur privé, qui fourniront un moyen de démontrer, de manière indépendante et vérifiable, l'engagement individuel des entreprises privées en matière d'intégrité.

Ethique au sein de la société
Puisque toute campagne efficace de lutte contre la corruption exige la pleine participation de tous les secteurs de la société, notamment de la société civile, du secteur privé et du secteur public, nous nous engageons à travailler pour élever les normes d'éthique au sein des ONG, dans le monde des affaires, dans le secteur public et dans nos sociétés en général.

L'argent et la politique
Nous nous engageons à soutenir l'élaboration de méthodes nouvelles pour limiter l'influence corruptrice de l'argent sur plusieurs de nos processus démocratiques, en mettant l'accent sur la réduction des dépenses électorales et la diminution des coûts.

L'art contre la corruption
Nous nous engageons à encourager nos artistes et utiliser leur talent pour disséminer des messages de sensibilisation à une large communauté, en mettant l'accent sur l'élévation des niveaux d'éthique dans toutes les couches de la société et, plus particulièrement, en permettant aux populations marginalisées dans les zones rurales ou urbaines de reconnaître et d'agir contre la corruption dont elles sont victimes.

Protection des témoins
Nous nous engageons à encourager la création d'institutions, de lois et de pratiques qui garantissent que tout citoyen responsable peut signaler des cas de corruption, où qu'ils se produisent, sans peur des représailles, et qui font en sorte que les médias puissent pleinement jouer leur rôle en demandant des comptes aux individus et institutions impliqués.

Indépendance des agences de lutte contre la corruption
Application de la loi

Nous nous engageons à soutenir les institutions chargées de contrer la corruption dans nos sociétés pour assurer que leur indépendance soit respectée par tous et qu'elles disposent des ressources nécessaires. Nous travaillerons à ce qu'elles puissent rendre des comptes à l'abri de toute interférence politique.

Recours au droit civil pour recouvrir les gains illicites
Nous nous engageons à encourager l'élaboration d'instruments de droit civil pour permettre d'identifier et de recouvrer les gains de la corruption de manière plus efficace que ne le permet le droit pénal en raison de ses exigences quant à l'établissement de la preuve. Nous continuerons à explorer les moyens constitutionnels de rendre la loi pénale plus efficace là où la preuve d'actes de corruption est plus difficile à apporter.

Initiatives sectorielles
Nous nous engageons à encourager des initiatives de lutte contre la corruption au sein de secteurs particulièrement vulnérables comme l'éducation, les services sociaux, la santé, la construction, l'industrie minière, et à encourager les décideurs, au sein de ces secteurs, à développer et mette en oeuvre leurs propres stratégies en collaboration avec leurs partenaires concernés.

Secteur bancaire
Nous nous engageons à encourager le secteur bancaire et d'autres à générer des solutions (y compris des contraintes internationales) qui permettent d'enregistrer les transactions de manière efficace et de réduire les pratiques de blanchiment de l'argent afin de permettre la restitution aux pays en voie de développement des sommes pillées par leurs dirigeants. Nous considérons qu'il est inadmissible que ces sommes soient investies dans des institutions du monde industrialisé au profit de quelques individus corrompus alors que les propriétaires légitimes de cet argent en ont un besoin désespéré pour le bénéfice de tous.

Système Judiciaire et Etat de droit
Nous nous engageons à concevoir des stratégies capables de restaurer l'intégrité du système judiciaire par des moyens qui le tiennent responsable sans toutefois compromettre son indépendance fondamentale.

Douanes et Police
Nous nous engageons à établir et renforcer les actions communes avec l'administration des douanes pour contrôler la corruption et générer les revenus essentiels à la bonne gouvernance et à l'augmentation des salaires dans le secteur public, qui s'impose dans plusieurs pays. Nous établirons aussi des coalitions locales pour soutenir les commissaires de police favorables aux réformes et assurer à leurs efforts le soutien du public.

Annulation de la dette et Jubilee 2000
Nous nous engageons à soutenir l'annulation de la dette telle que le propose Jubilee 2000, en soulignant la nécessité de faire en sorte que les bénéfices aillent aux plus démunis et non aux élites corrompues.

Evaluation de l'efficacité des réformes
Nous nous engageons à continuer à perfectionner nos méthodes pour analyser la nature et l'étendue de la corruption et mesurer l'efficacité des réformes.

En conclusion, nous tenons à exprimer à nos hôtes notre gratitude pour la chaleur de leur accueil, en particulier l'Honorable Penuell Maduna, le Gouvernement de la République d'Afrique du Sud et son peuple, ainsi que pour l'excellence de l'organisation menée par le coordonnateur de la conférence, Dr Danny Titus. Nous remercions également le Conseil de la Conférence Internationale de Lutte contre la Corruption, son secrétariat, Transparency International, TI-South Africa et son comité organisateur. L'organisatrice de la Conférence, Mme Mélanie Campbell et son équipe compétente ont mérité notre admiration pour la gestion d'un événement de cet envergure.

Notre lutte sera longue, ardue et constante. Les corrompus parmi nous essaieront toujours de pervertir le bien-être de nos sociétés et de nos institutions. Notre engagement durera aussi longtemps que cela sera nécessaire.

Nous nous réjouissons de vous revoir à Prague dans deux ans pour mesurer les progrès accomplis et planifier l'avenir.

Phambili Nokulwa Nenkohlakalo ! (Zoulou : En avant la lutte contre la corruption) ! A Luta Continua (Portuguese : La lutte continue !)

Together, we can, we shall overcome ! (Ensemble, nous y arriverons !)

Durban
South Africa
15 Octobre 1999

IACC-Logo, back to IACC-Home

INTERNATIONAL ANTI-CORRUPTION CONFERENCE (IACC) Español
Version française
Programme
Papers
Organisers
Registration
Past IACCs
Sponsors
Contact

Lima
Declaration 

Durban
Commitment

Privacy Policy

Impressum

   The 9th International Anti-Corruption Conference


THE DURBAN COMMITMENT TO EFFECTIVE ACTION AGAINST CORRUPTION

WE, the 1,600 participants at the IXth International Anti-Corruption Conference, drawn from 135 countries, addressing the theme "Global Integrity: 2000 and Beyond", held in Durban, South Africa, from 10 - 15 October 1999, recognise that corruption is a phenomenon that is one of the most debilitating legacies of the twentieth century.

On the eve of the Third Millenium, we recognise that unless the scourge of corruption is combated effectively, the world beyond the year 2000 will be one where poverty (already at unacceptable levels) is deepened even further; the legitimacy of governments further eroded; human rights abuses proliferate; and the democratic gains of the past 50 years will be destroyed.

Drawn from government, business, civil society and international organisations, we came to our conference to participate not as representatives of institutions and organisations, but as concerned individuals united in our desire to serve humankind. We came to engage in an open and honest appraisal of progress made, difficulties encountered, the challenges we face and our responses to them. Thereafter it is for us to carry forward in all our countries and institutions the tasks we now set ourselves.

As we stated in our Lima Declaration, corruption is an evil that threatens and challenges all people around the globe, but bears with special cruelty upon the world's most poor. It deepens poverty; it debases human rights; it degrades the environment; it derails development, including private sector development; it can drive conflict in and between nations; and it destroys confidence in democracy and the legitimacy of governments. It debases human dignity and is universally condemned by the world's major faiths.

At the same time, we reaffirm our conviction that a successful campaign against corruption demands the full participation of all sections of society, including most importantly civil society and, with it, the business community. It is our core belief that no government can hope to tackle corruption effectively without the active support and involvement of its citizens. For ourselves, we accept it as our solemn duty to combat corruption effectively whenever and wherever it is taking place.

Meeting here on the African continent for the first time, we were moved by the special contributions made by our African colleagues, as they shared their own insights into a malaise which they share with all regions of the world. We join in their conviction that South Africa and Nigeria have major leadership roles to play in the continent's struggle.

We were honoured to have our proceedings opened by H.E. Thabo Mbeki, President of the Republic of South Africa, who in a challenging and stimulating address outlined the dimensions of the challenge we face. Recalling an observation by George Soros, he observed that "There is something wrong with making the survival of the fittest a guiding principle of civilised society..." In President Mbeki's words our task is no less than to ensure that "legitimate and democratic states...[evolve] the social norms that militate against a perverted, anti-social individualism..."

We were also honoured with addresses from distinguished speakers from all sections of public and private life who included H.E. Festus Mogae, President of Botswana; James Wolfensohn, President of the World Bank; Chief Justice Mustafa Kamal of Bangladesh; Mark Malloch-Brown, Administrator of the UNDP; Ronald K. Noble, Secretary-General designate of INTERPOL; and Robert Wilson, Chairman of Rio Tinto plc. UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan and US Vice-President Al Gore (who had convened an international anti-corruption conference in Washington in February) sent us messages of encouragement and support. The address by Ms Wangari Maathai of the Greenbelt Movement (Kenya) was an inspiration.

The Hon. Penuell Maduna, Minister of Justice of South Africa, presided skillfully as our Conference Chairman and H.E. Joseph Zuma, Deputy President of South Africa, closed our proceedings.

We stood in silence as a mark of our respect for Mwalimu Julius Nyerere, former President of Tanzania, who passed away during our proceedings and who had hoped to be with us. We all shared in Africa's loss of an independence leader of the highest integrity.

Ours was essentially a working conference. In the course of the week we attended no fewer than 41 separate workshops. Each addressed practical steps to be taken against corruption in fields as varied as money- laundering, public procurement, public education, business and public sector ethics and public awareness raising through the performing arts. Each produced sets of practical steps that can and must be taken as our campaign proceeds. These will be widely publicised to the groups and interests to whom they are addressed and placed on the Internet (www.transparency.org). We shall encourage and carefully monitor the progress made, and will report fully to the Xth IACC in 2001.

Repeatedly we reminded ourselves that combating corruption is not a task for law enforcement officials alone, nor even a task that is principally theirs. Every prosecution, every act of corruption, represents a failure of our personal, social and organisational systems designed to prevent such conduct. We reminded ourselves, too, that "the hand that gives" is at least as culpable as "the hand that takes". Every failure to recover the proceeds of corruption serves to feed its growth.

While there are actions required from all at the international level, the struggle to contain corruption at the national level is essentially a domestic task, and the fight must come from within. External actors, including donors, can assist this process, but for it to be effective and enduring it must be locally owned, devised and driven.

In this context, as in others, we were reminded of the holistic nature of our undertaking. None of us works in a vacuum, and all of us must work with, and support, others if our task is to be accomplished.

In the course of our work together we took stock of the achievements of our coalition since our deliberations in Lima, Peru in 1997 and where our global coalition assumed such substance.

Much has been accomplished, but much remains to be done, especially to institutionalise the fight against corruption in civil society at large, as well as transparency, accountability and integrity in international and local organisations.

At the international level, perhaps most noteworthy have been the achievement of the OECD Convention Against the Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions (which now needs to be further extended and rendered fully effective and to which we were pleased to learn South Africa will soon become a party); the actions taken by some developing countries as they increase their ability to co-operate against corruption; the further progress made with the Council of Europe anti- corruption conventions (both criminal and civil); the support for our endeavour from international agencies has grown significantly (including action within the World Trade Organisation); actions have been taken by the International Chamber of Commerce to promote anti-bribery practices; multi- lateral development banks in particular have started to name, shame and exclude corrupt contractors from bidding for the projects they fund; and professional associations are taking an increasing interest in our topic.

At the national and local level, the number of Ombudsmen offices has grown significantly; exporting countries have started to end tax deductibility for bribes and to criminalise overseas bribery by their exporters; a growing number of countries have started to adopt and execute the holistic anti-corruption strategies we have been recommending; increased attention is being given to the protection of complainants and witnesses; and the number of codes of conduct and Citizen's Charters continues to grow.

None of this is to suggest that we have only made progress. Clearly, in some countries the movement has been minimal, at times negative, and journalists in particular continue to be exposed to unacceptable risks as they go about their legitimate tasks. So while we are encouraged by our progress we acknowledge that our Lima Declaration will continue to be our working tool for some time to come. We also renew our hope, expressed at Lima, that in due course consideration will be given to the United Nations designating an international day of action for integrity.

Against this background and as we enter a new century,

WE SOLEMNLY COMMIT OURSELVES to the following courses of action:

Political will
We will work with all stakeholders to foster meaningful political will to confront corruption, and in ways which involve all sections of society. As we are convinced that civil society has a crucial role to play, we were delighted with the announcement made by the UNDP to our conference that it will support a Partnership Fund, an initiative of Transparency International, which will serve to empower more meaningful participation by civil society in all these processes.

Innovations and emerging good practices
We will develop, identify and publicise novel, imaginative and effective examples of good practice in preventing and detecting corruption, such as the example in open public tendering presented to us by the Mayor of Seoul. To this end we will develop websites and information networks.

International and regional co-operation
We will work to maximise regional and international co-operation in the fight against corruption in practical ways, strengthening mutual legal assistance arrangements and fostering the development of anti-corruption conventions for the African and Asian regions. We wish to see the broad subject of combating corruption brought on to the agendas of the major international trade organisations, WTO and UNCTAD. Additionally, we will work to achieve full implementation of the OECD Convention Combating the Bribery of Foreign Officials, and the anti- bribery conventions of the Council of Europe and the Organisation of American States (OAS) so that country efforts are supported by supply-side sanctions. Monitoring will be a vital element to promote consistency and co-operation. We will support actions at the United Nations to encourage the criminalising of all forms of corruption, and we will enlarge an understanding that both the supply side and the demand side of international corruption must be attacked.

We welcome the scheduling of the Second Global Forum on Fighting Corruption and Safeguarding Integrity Amongst Justice and Security Officials in The Hague in 2001, a governmental forum which can serve to monitor critically the implementation of convention obligations by individual governments and as a forum which both reinforces and is itself reinforced by our own work in the IACC coalition.

Transparency in public procurement
We will continue to work for increased transparency in all fields, particularly in public procurement, and will create private-public sector partnerships to develop reliable, open and competitive systems, including open tendering on the Internet. At the international level we look forward to the WTO, among others, playing a key role, including the conclusion of an agreement on transparency in government procurement at the November 1999 Seattle Ministerial Meeting.

Private sector integrity
We will explore the development of business standards which foster and promote integrity and equip the private sector with a tool which can demonstrate, in independently verifiable ways, their individual commitments to integrity in their business practices.

Ethics in society
As a successful campaign against corruption demands the full participation of all sections of society, including most importantly civil society and, with it, the business community, we will work to raise the standards of ethical conduct within the NGO community, in the private sector and throughout the public service and our societies.

Money and politics
We will foster the development of creative ways in which to contain the corrupt influence money has over many of our democratic processes, with a focus on limiting its influence by reducing the costs of elections and restricting expenditures and call on the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) in Stockholm to accord the highest priority to this task.

Art against corruption
We will encourage innovation by our creative artists for them to use their skills to communicate essential awareness messages to a wide community, with a special focus on raising levels of ethics throughout society and empowering especially the marginalised in rural and depressed urban areas to recognise and act against the corruption they suffer.

Protection of complainants against corruption
We will encourage the development of institutions, laws and practices which ensure that responsible citizens can report instances of corruption without fear of reprisals, wherever it may be occurring, and to ensure that the media is free to play its pivotal role in holding relevant individuals and institutions to account.

Independence of anti-corruption agencies/law enforcement
We will support the institutions within our societies tasked with countering corruption to ensure that their independence is respected by all, and that they are adequately resourced. We will work, too, to ensure that they are held accountable in ways free from political interference.

Use of civil remedies to recover proceeds and criminal burden of proof
We will encourage the development of civil law (i.e. non-criminal) processes to enable the proceeds of corruption to be identified and recovered more effectively than the criminal law may allow because of standard of proof requirements. We will continue to explore constitutional ways of making the criminal law more effective in areas where proof of specific acts of corruption is difficult to obtain.

Sectoral initiatives
We will foster initiatives to contain corruption within particularly vulnerable sectors, such as education, social services, health, construction and mining and encourage leaderships within these to develop and implement their own strategies in partnership with other relevant stakeholders.

Banking community
We will encourage members of the banking community and others to create responses (including enforceable international obligations) which will record transactions effectively, curb the levels of money-laundering and which will facilitate the return to developing countries of moneys looted by their leaders. We find it wholly unacceptable that the moneys should be invested in institutions in the developed world for the benefit of a corrupt few when they are desperately needed by their rightful owners in the South for the benefit of all.

Judiciary and the Rule of Law
We will develop approaches capable of restoring integrity to a judiciary in ways which call for greater accountability but without eroding the judiciary's essential independence.

Customs and Police
We will build and strengthen partnerships with customs administrations to check corruption and facilitate the revenue essential for good governance and for public sector salaries to be raised, as they must be in many countries. Similarly, we will build local coalitions to support of reform-minded police commissioners to assure them of public support for their efforts.

Debt cancellation and Jubilee 2000
We will support debt cancellation in the framework of Jubilee 2000, where the benefits flow to the poor and not to corrupt elites in the societies involved.

Tracking the effectiveness of reforms
We will continue to develop our methodologies to analyse the nature and extent of corruption, and for assessing the effectiveness of particular reforms.

In conclusion we express our gratitude for the warmth of their welcome to our hosts, the Hon. Penuell Maduna, the government of South Africa and their people; and for the excellence of the arrangements to the Conference Co-ordinator, Dr. Danny Titus, to the International Anti-Corruption Conference Council (IACCC) and its secretariat, Transparency International; and to TI-South Africa and the South African Organising Committee it facilitated. The conference organiser, Ms Melanie Campbell, and her able team earned out admiration for their handling of the logistics of an unusually demanding event.

Our struggle will be a long, an arduous and a continuing one. It will not be won quickly, and in many ways it will be never-ending. The corrupt amongst us will always try to pervert the well-being of our societies and our institutions. Our commitment, therefore, is as long-terms as it is determined.

We look forward to meeting again, in Prague, in two years' time, there to take stock of our continued progress and to chart for the further years ahead.

Phambili Nokulwa Nenkohlakalo! (Zulu = Forward with the struggle against corruption)!

A luta continua (Portuguese = The struggle goes on)!

Together, we can, and we shall, overcome!

Durban
South Africa
15 October 1999